Appointed Officials

Listed below are your Fulton County appointed officials.

To learn more about each appointed official and the government department they direct click on their photo below.

Mirza Berberkic

Designation: Assistant Public Defender


Phone: (309) 547-3041 Ext. 302

Fax: (309) 547-2237

Office Address: Fulton County Courthouse, Room 310, 100 N. Main Street Lewistown, IL 61542

Supervisor of Assessments

Julie Russell

Julie Russell

Designation: Supervisor of Assessments/Assistant Plat Act Officer


Phone: (309) 547-3041 Ext. 113

Office Address: 100 N. Main, PO Box 283, Lewistown, IL 61542

Office Hours: Monday–Friday 8:00am–4:00pm (no lunch hour)

Julie was appointed as the Chief County Assessment Officer in 2020. Prior to that, she served as an appraiser for 11 years for Fulton County. She earned her Bachelor of Arts in Communication from Western Illinois University in 2009 and an A.A. And A.S. from Spoon River College in 2007. In 2019, she earned the CIAO-S designation from the Illinois Property Assessment Institute.

In her free time, she enjoys cooking, spending time with friends, camping, hiking, traveling & attending her children’s numerous sports events. She is a die hard St. Louis Cardinals fan and proud wife of a firefighter. Julie is a lifelong Fulton County resident and currently resides in Canton with her husband, two children and two beagles.

Clayberg Nursing Center Administrator

Tammie Denning

Designation: Clayberg Nursing Home Administrator


Phone: (309) 785-5012

Office Address: 625 E Monroe St, Cuba 61427

Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30am–4:30pm

Term of Office: Employment Agreement

Emergency Services Disaster Agency (ESDA) Director

Chris Helle

Chris Helle

Designation: Emergency Services Disaster Agency Director/Acting ETSB Director


Phone: (309) 647-3358

Chris became the Fulton County ESDA Director in late 2005.  Prior to this Chris was the Farmington ESDA Director for 6 years and has been in the Emergency Management Field for 17 years.

Chris holds a degree in Criminal Justice from Spoon River College in Canton, IL.  He has responded to disasters in Florida and across Illinois.  He has received a Certificate Of Appreciation from the Governor of  Florida and the Federal Emergency Management Agency for his role in the 2004 Hurricane Outbreak.  He is also on the Illinois Search and Rescue Council “Advance Team” to help respond statewide to missing persons.  Chris also holds certifications in the National Incident Management System, Disaster Assessment and various Search and Rescue Techniques.  Chris was the 2010 Small Business Exporter Of The Year and currently resides in Farmington with his wife and two children.

Health Department Administrator

Katie Lynn

Katie Lynn

Designation: Health Department Administrator



Phone: (309) 647-1134

Office Address: 700 East Oak Street, Canton, IL 61520

Office Hours: Monday–Friday 8:00am–4:00pm

Planning and Zoning Director

Janice Emmons

Janice Emmons

Designation: Planning & Zoning Officer/Plat Act Officer


Phone: (309) 547-0902, (309) 357-0291

Office Address: 257 West Lincoln Street Lewistown, IL 61542

Office Hours: Monday-Friday, Office hours: 7:30am-10:00am, by appointment only 10:00am, Except Holidays. Due to field inspections, meetings, vacation, and illness, the office may be closed at other times. Please call before arriving at office.

Janice has worked for Planning and Zoning since 1993 and as the Zoning Director since 2007. Janice enjoys helping the public and has recently obtained an M.A. Degree from Western Illinois University where she has completed advanced training in Non-Metropolitan Planning and Geographic Information Science.

Fulton County Public Defender

Nick Cotta

Designation: Chief Public Defender


Phone: (309) 547-3041 Ext. 103

Fax: (309) 547-2039

Office Address: Fulton County Courthouse, Room 100, 100 N. Main Street Lewistown, IL 61542

Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am-4:00pm

Probation Supervisor

Ellen Milleson

Ellen Milleson

Designation: Probation Supervisor

Phone: (309) 547-3041 Ext 220 or dial 8

Office Address: Fulton County Courthouse, Room 204, 100 N. Main Street, Lewistown, Il. 61542

Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am-4:00pm

Ellen Milleson is the current Supervisor of the Fulton County Probation Department.  She is a 1989 graduate of WesternIllinoisUniversity earning a Bachelor Degree in Applied Science in Law Enforcement Administration.  She started working for the Probation Department under the late Shirley J. Hoffman, as an Adult Probation Officer in February of 1990.  She worked as a probation officer for 11 years and was promoted to supervisor in 2001.  She has a staff of 6 probation officers and 2 support staff.

Fulton County Camping and Recreation Area

John D. Young

John D. Young

Designation: Camping and Recreation Area Superintendent


Phone: (309) 668-2931

Office Address: 18773 N. Conservation Rd, Canton, IL 61520

Mailing Address: PO Box 258  St. David, IL 61563

Highway Engineer

Keith Munter

Keith Munter

Designation: County Engineer


Phone: (309) 647-0351

Office Address: 430 East Oak St., Canton, IL 61520

Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 7:00am-12:00pm & 1:00-3:30pm, Except Holidays Due to construction, training or illness, the office may be closed at other times.