Fulton County Board Reorganizational Meeting Minutes

Fulton County Courthouse, 100 N. Main Street, Courtroom 201, Lewistown, IL 61542

Meeting Place: Fulton County Courthouse, Room 201 Time: 6:00pm Date: December 5, 2022

CALL IN INFORMATION Call in number: 1-720-843-2454 Meeting code: 7933-753

Call to Order Time: 6:00pm

Pledge Innovation

Additions/Deletions to Agenda

Member Beck made the motion to approve the agenda with a second from Member Berry. Motion carried by roll call vote (14-0).

Announcements, Communications and Correspondence – None Public Remarks: None

Public Remarks: None

Credentials Committee Report

Member Kessel reported the Credentials Committee examined the records on file in the County Clerk's office of Fulton County. The Credentials Committee found the newly elected Fulton County Board members elected to District 1: Stan Berry, Laura Hepp Kessel, BJ McCullum, Joseph Murphy, David Widger. District 2: Barry Beck, Jared Heller, Lauren Southwood, John Spangler, Karl Williams. District 3: James Barclay, Daniel Kumer, Brian Platt, Ryan Sloan, Lisa Thompson.

The certificate is on file and the Credentials Committee recommends all Fulton County Board members be seated and granted all rights and allotments of their said office.

Member Berry made the motion to approve the Credentials Committee report with a second from Member Kumer. Motion carried by roll call vote (14-0) with Member McCullum Absent.

Oath of Office – Newly Elected Board Members

District #1: Stan Berry, Laura Hepp Kessel, BJ McCullum, Joseph Murphy, David Widger **District #2:** Barry Beck, Jared Heller, Lauren Southwood, John Spangler, Karl Williams **District #3:** James Barclay, Daniel Kumer, Brian Platt, Ryan Sloan, Lisa Thompson

Clerk O'Brian swore in each district of newly elected Fulton County Board Members.

Discussion/Action: Board to consist of 8 - 4 year terms and 7 - 2 year terms

Member Kessel made the motion to approve the Board to consist of 8 - 4 year terms and 7 - 2 year terms with a second from Member Platt. Motion carried by roll call vote (15-0).

Lottery to Determine the Number of 4 Year Terms Per District (3, 2, 3)

The Credentials Committee members came forward and drew for the term limits. District 1 will have 2 members with 4 year terms. District 2 and 3 will have 3 members with 4 year terms.

Lottery by District to Determine Board Member's Length of Term

District 1, drew for the length of term in office and Members McCullum and Widger will have 4 years terms and Members Berry, Kessel and Murphy will have 2 year terms.

District 2, drew for the length of term in office. Members Southwood, Spangler and Williams will have 4 year terms and Members Beck and Heller will have 2 year terms.

District 3, drew for the length of term in office and Members Barclay, Kumer and Platt will have 4 year terms and Members Sloan and Thompson will have 2 year terms.

Presentation of Rules to Elect Chairperson & Vice Chairperson

Clerk O'Brian read the rules as written for the election of Chairperson & Vice Chairman.

Nominations for Chairperson

Clerk O'Brian called for nominations for chairman. Member Berry nominated Member Murphy for Chairman. Member Platt nominated Member Spangler for Chairman. Clerk O'Brian made two more calls for before closing the nominations.

Election of Chairperson

Clerk O'Brian stated with 9 votes for Member Spangler and 5 votes for Member Murphy and Member Kessel abstained to vote.

The new chairman of the Fulton County Board is John Spangler.

Nominations for Vice Chairperson

Clerk O'Brian called for nominations for vice chairperson. Member Thompson nominated Member Kessel for vice chairperson. Member Kumer nominated Member Murphy for vice chairperson.

Clerk O'Brian made two more calls for before closing the nominations.

Election of Vice Chairperson

Clerk O'Brian stated 10 votes for Member Kessel and 3 votes for Member Murphy and with Members McCullum and Widger abstained to vote.

The new vice chairperson of the Fulton County Board is Member Kessel.

Committee Appointments

Chairman Spangler thanked all members for being elected as Chairman. Chairman Spangler is looking forward to working with the new board and is excited about all the new members.

Chairman Spangler provided the committee appointments list to all Fulton County Board Members for the 2022 – 2024 term.

Member Kessel made the motion to approve the Committee appointments list with a second from Member Thompson. Motion carried by roll call vote (14-1) with Member Kumer voting nay.

Presentation of the Rules of Order

Discussion/Action: Resolution: Adoption of the Rules of Order for 2022- 2024 Member Thompson discussed the Rules of Order will need to be amended and P&L will work on the amendments.

Member Thompson made the motion to approve the Rules of Order for 2022 – 2024 with a second from Member Beck. Motion carried by roll call vote (15-0).

Additional News or Announcements

Chairman Spangler stated all committee meetings set for December will remain as they have been posted and in January the new meeting schedule will start.

Adjournment

Time: 6:50pm

Member Murphy made the motion to adjourn with a second from Member Thompson. Motion carried by roll call vote (15-0).